Australian Amphibious Force

Search Contents

The Australian Amphibious Forces composed of three warships, two from the Canberra-class and one from the Bay-class:

The Australian Amphibious Force has been recently developed significantly with the addition of two new warships that belong to the Canberra class. This class of warships are landing helicopter dock ships based on the design of Spanish ship Juan Carlos I. The hull of each ship was built by the designer, Navantia, then was transported to Australia by heavy lift ship for internal fitout and installation of the superstructure by BAE Systems Australia.

Capabilities of Canberra-class ships

Designed to transport and land an amphibious force of up to 1,600 soldiers by landing craft and helicopter, the Canberras are the largest ships ever operated by the RAN. Lead ship HMAS Canberra (L02) was commissioned into the RAN in late 2014. The HMAS Canberra is also the flagship of the RAN. The second ship of the class, Adelaide, was commissioned on the 4th of December 2015, one year and six days after Canberra.

The Bay-class ship HMAS Choules

On the other hand, the Bay-class landing ship dock HMAS Choules is much less advanced and new that the Canberra-class. It was acquired by the RAN in 2011 since the vessel was originally built by Swan Hunter for the British Royal Fleet Auxiliary, and entered British service in 2006 as RFA Largs Bay. She was made redundant in the 2011 Strategic Defence and Security Review and sold to Australia.

Even though less advanced than Canberra-class vessels, the Choules ship represented a major increase in sealift capability for the RAN, particularly after mechanical issues in 2010 and 2011 forced the early retirement of the navy’s two Kanimbla-class vessels, and put HMAS Tobruk in dock for an extensive refit.


▽ Royal Australian Navy



Frigate Surface Force
The Australian Navy Frigate
Surface Force


HMAS Collins-class Rankin

Submarine Force
The Australian Navy
Submarine Force



Amphibious Force
The Australian Navy
Amphibious Force



Patrol Force
The Australian Navy
Patrol Force


HMAS Ballarat

MineHunting Force
The Australian Navy
Mine Warfare Force


HMAS Stuart

Replenishment and Survey Force
The Australian Navy
Replenishment and Survey Force



Training Ships and other Non-Commissioned Units
The Australian Navy Training Ships
and Other Non-Commissioned Units

▽Warships in the Royal Australian Navy (RAN)

Frigate surface Force (11): The principal striking force of the RAN comes from the eleven frigates of the surface force: eight of them belong to the Anzac class and the rest (three) are units from the Adelaide class.
Submarine Striking Force (6): The RAN operates six Collins-class submarines. Due to technical and manpower problems these submarines might be replaced in the future by Japanese Soryu-class submarines.
Amphibious Force (3): There are a huge variety of amphibious warfare units, which include two Canberra-class landing helicopter dock ships and the landing ship HMAS Choules.
Patrol Boat Force (13): There are thirteen Armidale-class patrol boats that perform coastal and economic exclusion zone patrols.
Mine Hunting and Warfare Force (4 + 2 in reserve):
There are four Huon-class vessels that are used for minehunting and clearance (another two are commissioned but in reserve since October 2011).
Replenishment Force (2 + 6 survey duties):
The task for replenishment at sea is provided by two ships, Sirius and Success. In addition, there are two Leeuwin-class and four Paluma-class vessels perform survey and charting duties.
Training Units (1 + 1 support vessel + 2 patrol boats):
The RAN operates the sail training ship Young Endeavour, the support vessel ADV Ocean Shield, and two Cape-class patrol boats. The latter ones are acquired thanks to the Australian Border Force.

Matched Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>