Australian Navy Ranks Headquarters

Search Contents

Welcome to the Australian Navy Ranks Headquarters! We have a lot of information for everything you may need to understand the Australian Navy Rank structure, ranks in the navy ( enlisted ranks ) and make your life easier in the case you begin your career as member of the Australian Navy!. Specific information for each enlisted rank, requirements to acquire that rank, the associated insignia as well as the approximate salary and income of the ranks in the navy are just some of the helpful things you may find in this website.

What is your future Navy Rank! The recent new offer of jobs publicly announced by the Royal Australian Navy makes the topic of Navy Ranks important for those that one to become a member of the Royal Australian Navy. Structure of ranks changes depending on the navy country and it is often quite complex. In the US Navy, for example, the word “rank” to refer to the Navy enlisted personnel is not considered correct. The adequate term is “rate.” Therefore, the rating badge would be a kind of combination of rate i.e. pay grade and rating i.e. occupational specialty. Here, in the case of the Australian Navy Ranks, we will still use the word rank, or office rank. In particular, it is widely use the words Commissioned officer rank structure for referring to the rating of the members of the Royal Australian Navy.

Australian Navy Ranks for the commissioned officers

The Australian Navy Ranks for the Commissioned officers have 12 different pay grades, which go from S-1 to O-11. The S-1 corresponds to Midshipman and the highest one O-11, refers to the Admiral of the Fleet. This position is honorary and in fact there has been only one person that has obtained it. That person was the Duke of Edinburg.

Currently, because there is no O-10 (Admiral), the highest position occupied in the current Royal Australian Navy structure is O-9 who serves as a vice admiral and also as the Chief of the Navy. Next, we have the O-8 (rear admiral). From O-5 (commander) and above are referred to as senior officers. On the other hand, S-1 (midshipman) to O-4 (lieutenant commander) are referred to as junior officers.

The commission for all the officials are received from Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Queen of Australia and it is formally issued and signed by the Governor General of Australia as Commander-in-Chief .

The detailed list of all the ranks for the Commissioned officers of the Australian Royal Navy is as follows:

Admiral of the Fleet
Rear Admiral
Lietenant Commander
Acting Sub Lieutenant


In addition, there are other ranks that are not associated to commissioned officers:

Warrant Officer of the Navy and Warrant Officer
Chief Petty Officer
Petty Officer
Leading Seaman
Able Seaman

Interestingly, there are no ranks for E-7, E-4 and E-1.

▽ Royal Australian Navy



Frigate Surface Force
The Australian Navy Frigate
Surface Force


HMAS Collins-class Rankin

Submarine Force
The Australian Navy
Submarine Force



Amphibious Force
The Australian Navy
Amphibious Force



Patrol Force
The Australian Navy
Patrol Force


HMAS Ballarat

MineHunting Force
The Australian Navy
Mine Warfare Force


HMAS Stuart

Replenishment and Survey Force
The Australian Navy
Replenishment and Survey Force



Training Ships and other Non-Commissioned Units
The Australian Navy Training Ships
and Other Non-Commissioned Units

▽Warships in the Royal Australian Navy (RAN)

Frigate surface Force (11): The principal striking force of the RAN comes from the eleven frigates of the surface force: eight of them belong to the Anzac class and the rest (three) are units from the Adelaide class.
Submarine Striking Force (6): The RAN operates six Collins-class submarines. Due to technical and manpower problems these submarines might be replaced in the future by Japanese Soryu-class submarines.
Amphibious Force (3): There are a huge variety of amphibious warfare units, which include two Canberra-class landing helicopter dock ships and the landing ship HMAS Choules.
Patrol Boat Force (13): There are thirteen Armidale-class patrol boats that perform coastal and economic exclusion zone patrols.
Mine Hunting and Warfare Force (4 + 2 in reserve):
There are four Huon-class vessels that are used for minehunting and clearance (another two are commissioned but in reserve since October 2011).
Replenishment Force (2 + 6 survey duties):
The task for replenishment at sea is provided by two ships, Sirius and Success. In addition, there are two Leeuwin-class and four Paluma-class vessels perform survey and charting duties.
Training Units (1 + 1 support vessel + 2 patrol boats):
The RAN operates the sail training ship Young Endeavour, the support vessel ADV Ocean Shield, and two Cape-class patrol boats. The latter ones are acquired thanks to the Australian Border Force.

Matched Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>