Australian Submarine Waller SSG 75

Search Contents

The Australian submarine fleet is composed of six Collins-class submarines, and among the, the HMAS Waller SSG 75 is the third one built for the Royal Australian Navy. Her name corresponds to the Captain Hector Waller and the ship was laid down in 1992, and launched in 1997. Intriguingly, there were reports from the RAN in which they were refusing to accept the submarine for service. However, later during its performance the  Waller has demonstrated the capabilities of the Collins class submarines.


HMAS Waller badge

HMAS Waller badge

  • Installed power: 3 × Garden Island-Hedemora HV V18b/15Ub (VB210) 18-cylinder diesel motors, 3 × Jeumont-Schneider generators (1,400 kW, 440-volt DC)
  • Propulsion Main: 1 × Jeumont-Schneider DC motor (7,200 shp), driving 1 × seven-bladed, 4.22 m (13.8 ft) diameter skewback propeller
  • Emergency: 1 × MacTaggart Scott DM 43006 retractable hydraulic motor
  • Speed:
    10.5 knots (19.4 km/h; 12.1 mph) (surfaced and snorkel depth)
    21 knots (39 km/h; 24 mph) (submerged)
  • Range:
    11,000 nautical miles (20,000 km; 13,000 mi) at 10 knots (19 km/h; 12 mph) (surfaced)
    9,000 nautical miles (17,000 km; 10,000 mi) at 10 knots (19 km/h; 12 mph) (snorkel)
    32.6 nautical miles (60.4 km; 37.5 mi) at 21 knots (39 km/h; 24 mph) (submerged)
    480 nautical miles (890 km; 550 mi) at 4 knots (7.4 km/h; 4.6 mph) (submerged)
  • Endurance: 70 days
  • Test depth: Over 180 m (590 ft) (actual depth classified)
  • Complement:
    Originally 42 (plus up to 12 trainees)
    Increased to 58 in 2009
  • Radar:
    GEC-Marconi Type 1007 surface search radar
  • Sonar:
    Thales Scylla bow and distributed sonar arrays
    Thales Karriwarra or Namara towed sonar array
    ArgoPhoenix AR-740-US intercept array
  • Combat system:
    Modified Raytheon CCS Mk2
  • Armament:
    6 × 21-inch (530 mm) bow torpedo tubes
  • Payload: 22 torpedoes, mix of:
    Mark 48 Mod 7 CBASS torpedoes
    UGM-84C Sub-Harpoon anti-ship missiles
  • Or: 44 Stonefish Mark III mines

HMAS Waller submarine in Pearl Harbor port.

HMAS Waller submarine in Pearl Harbor port.


Operational Missions:


  • During the 1999 crisis in East Timor, Waller is reported to have supported the infiltration of naval clearance divers into the Oecussi Enclave.
  • In late May 2000, Waller became the first Australian submarine to operate as a fully integrated component of a United States Navy carrier battle group.
  • During a multinational exercise in September 2003, which was attended by Waller and sister boat Rankin, Waller successfully “sank” a Los Angeles class nuclear submarine.
  • In 2006, the Mark 48 torpedoes carried by the Collins class were upgraded to the Mod 7 Common Broadband Advanced Sonar System (CBASS) version.
  • In early 2009, battery problems aboard Waller forced the submarine to undergo emergency maintenance.
    • The boat was returned to service during the end of the year, but maintenance delays and malfunctions aboard other submarines during early 2010, meant that Waller was the only fully operational submarine during February and March 2010.
    • To improve some systems and repair other ones, the Waller was undergoing deep maintenance during 2012, and was due to return to service in 2013.

▽ Royal Australian Navy



Frigate Surface Force
The Australian Navy Frigate
Surface Force


HMAS Collins-class Rankin

Submarine Force
The Australian Navy
Submarine Force



Amphibious Force
The Australian Navy
Amphibious Force



Patrol Force
The Australian Navy
Patrol Force


HMAS Ballarat

MineHunting Force
The Australian Navy
Mine Warfare Force


HMAS Stuart

Replenishment and Survey Force
The Australian Navy
Replenishment and Survey Force



Training Ships and other Non-Commissioned Units
The Australian Navy Training Ships
and Other Non-Commissioned Units

▽Warships in the Royal Australian Navy (RAN)

Frigate surface Force (11): The principal striking force of the RAN comes from the eleven frigates of the surface force: eight of them belong to the Anzac class and the rest (three) are units from the Adelaide class.

Submarine Striking Force (6): The RAN operates six Collins-class submarines. Due to technical and manpower problems these submarines might be replaced in the future by Japanese Soryu-class submarines.

Amphibious Force (3): There are a huge variety of amphibious warfare units, which include two Canberra-class landing helicopter dock ships and the landing ship HMAS Choules.

Patrol Boat Force (13): There are thirteen Armidale-class patrol boats that perform coastal and economic exclusion zone patrols.

Mine Hunting and Warfare Force (4 + 2 in reserve):
There are four Huon-class vessels that are used for minehunting and clearance (another two are commissioned but in reserve since October 2011).

Replenishment Force (2 + 6 survey duties):
The task for replenishment at sea is provided by two ships, Sirius and Success. In addition, there are two Leeuwin-class and four Paluma-class vessels perform survey and charting duties.

Training Units (1 + 1 support vessel + 2 patrol boats):
The RAN operates the sail training ship Young Endeavour, the support vessel ADV Ocean Shield, and two Cape-class patrol boats. The latter ones are acquired thanks to the Australian Border Force.

Matched Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>