Australian Warship Newcastle FFG 06

Search Contents

This missile-guided frigate named HMAS Newcastle (FFG 06) is an Adelaide-class vessel operated by the Royal Australian Navy (RAN). This last ship of the class to be constructed by AMECON, Williamstown and she entered service in 1993. This frigate is still active as of December 2015.


HMAS Newcastle badge

HMAS Newcastle badge


  • Displacement: 4,100 tons
  • Length: 138.1 m (453 ft) overall
  • Beam: 13.7 m (45 ft)
  • Draught: 7.5 m (25 ft)
  • Propulsion:
    2 × General Electric LM2500 gas turbines, 41,000 horsepower (31,000 kW), 1 shaft
    2 × 650-horsepower (480 kW) auxiliary propulsors
  • Speed: 29 knots (54 km/h; 33 mph)
  • Range: 4,500 nautical miles (8,300 km; 5,200 mi) at 20 knots (37 km/h; 23 mph)
  • Complement: 184 (including 15 officers, not including aircrew)
  • Sensors and processing systems:
    AN/SPS-49 air search radar
    AN/SPS-55 surface search and navigation radar
    SPG-60 fire control radar (Mark 92 fire control system)
    AN/SQS-56 hull-mounted sonar
  • Armament:
    1 × Mark 13 Missile Launcher for Harpoon and Standard missiles
    1 × 8-cell Mark 41 VLS with Evolved Sea Sparrow missiles
    2 × Mark 32 torpedo tubes
    1 × OTO Melara 76 mm naval gun
    1 × 20 mm Phalanx CIWS
    Up to 6 x 12.7-millimetre (0.50 in) machine guns
    2 × M2HB .50 calibre Mini Typhoons (fitted as required)
  • Aircraft carried: 2 helicopters

HMAS Newcastle FFG 06 in 2010.

HMAS Newcastle FFG 06 in 2010.

Operational missions:


  • Newcastle was deployed to East Timor as part of the Australian-led INTERFET peacekeeping taskforce from 19 December 1999 to 26 January 2000.
  • During 2005, Newcastle was deployed to the Persian Gulf. Newcastle and HMAS Parramatta were the first RAN ships to be fitted with two M2HB .50 calibre machine guns inMini Typhoon mounts; now a standard theatre fit for all RAN frigates deployed to the Persian Gulf.
  • At the start of November 2006, Newcastle was one of three Australian warships sent to Fiji during the leadup to the 2006 coup d’état by Fijian military forces against Prime Minister Laisenia Qarase.
  • On the morning of 13 March 2009, Newcastle was one of seventeen warships involved in a ceremonial fleet entry and fleet review in Sydney Harbour.
  • During July and August 2010, Newcastle was one of three RAN ships to participate in the RIMPAC 2010 multinational exercise


▽ Royal Australian Navy



Frigate Surface Force
The Australian Navy Frigate
Surface Force


HMAS Collins-class Rankin

Submarine Force
The Australian Navy
Submarine Force



Amphibious Force
The Australian Navy
Amphibious Force



Patrol Force
The Australian Navy
Patrol Force


HMAS Ballarat

MineHunting Force
The Australian Navy
Mine Warfare Force


HMAS Stuart

Replenishment and Survey Force
The Australian Navy
Replenishment and Survey Force



Training Ships and other Non-Commissioned Units
The Australian Navy Training Ships
and Other Non-Commissioned Units

▽Warships in the Royal Australian Navy (RAN)

Frigate surface Force (11): The principal striking force of the RAN comes from the eleven frigates of the surface force: eight of them belong to the Anzac class and the rest (three) are units from the Adelaide class.

Submarine Striking Force (6): The RAN operates six Collins-class submarines. Due to technical and manpower problems these submarines might be replaced in the future by Japanese Soryu-class submarines.

Amphibious Force (3): There are a huge variety of amphibious warfare units, which include two Canberra-class landing helicopter dock ships and the landing ship HMAS Choules.

Patrol Boat Force (13): There are thirteen Armidale-class patrol boats that perform coastal and economic exclusion zone patrols.

Mine Hunting and Warfare Force (4 + 2 in reserve):
There are four Huon-class vessels that are used for minehunting and clearance (another two are commissioned but in reserve since October 2011).

Replenishment Force (2 + 6 survey duties):
The task for replenishment at sea is provided by two ships, Sirius and Success. In addition, there are two Leeuwin-class and four Paluma-class vessels perform survey and charting duties.

Training Units (1 + 1 support vessel + 2 patrol boats):
The RAN operates the sail training ship Young Endeavour, the support vessel ADV Ocean Shield, and two Cape-class patrol boats. The latter ones are acquired thanks to the Australian Border Force.

Matched Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>