Indian Navy

Search Contents

sphere List of Indian Navy Vessels

sphere Indian Army Units

sphere XVII Century: The origin of the Indian Navy

This is a Navy with a long history and modern fleet. There was a company called East India Company composed of few ships which was founded in 1612 to protect British merchant shipping in the Indian region.  Later in 1858, the company rule gave way to the British Raj which lasted until India became independent in 1947. It was only after India became a republic in 1950 that the Royal Indian Navy was re-named the Indian Navy. It is well-established and recognized that the XVII century Maratha emperor Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj was the ‘Father of the Indian Navy’.

The currently modern Indian navy is well-equipped and has a strength of 58,350 personnel. Among the 183 ships and 213 planes, include two aircraft carriers, one amphibious transport dock, 9 Landing ship tanks, 10 destroyers, 15 frigates, one nuclear-powered attack submarine, 14 conventionally-powered attack submarines, 25 corvettes, 7 mine countermeasure vessels, 47 patrol vessels, 4 fleet tankers and various other auxiliary vessels.

sphere The Indian Navy Carriers


As of 2015, the Indian Navy has currently two aircraft carriers named, the INS Viraat and INS Vikramaditya. Because the INS Viraat is getting obsolete (it was called HMS Hermes when it was active in the Royal Navy and saw action during the Falklands conflict) and also because there is another carrier being constructed by India (Vikrant class carrier and expected to be commissioned in 2018), the INS Viraat is scheduled for decommissioning. The INS Viraat had four squadrons on board : INAS 300 “White Tigers” – flying Sea HarriersINAS 552 “The Braves” – flying Sea HarriersINAS 321 “Angels” – flying Alouette III(or Chetak), INAS 330 “Harpoons” – flying Sea Kings.

The other carrier, the INS Vikramaditya has Russian origin. She was originally built as Baku and commissioned in 1987, the carrier served with the Soviet and later with the Russian Navies (as Admiral Gorshkov) before being decommissioned in 1996 as she was too expensive to operate on a post-Cold War budget. The carrier was purchased by India on 20 January 2004 and was successfully to complete her sea trials in July 2013 and aviation trials in September 2013. She joined active service by December 2013.

ndian Navy Sea Harriers and Indian Air Force SEPECAT Jaguars with a US Navy F/A-18E Super Hornet overfly Viraat.

Harriers and Indian Air Force SEPECAT Jaguars with a US Navy F/A-18E Super Hornet overfly Viraat.

Vikramaditya has been designed as a STOBAR carrier capable of operating both conventional fixed-wing aircraft and helicopters, with up to 30 aircraft capable of being accommodated. Its primary embarked aircraft type is the Mikoyan MiG-29K, a navalised version of the Mikoyan MiG-29M. The MiG-29K is an advanced, all weather multirole fighter capable of undertaking both the fleet air defence, low level strike and anti-shipping roles. The primary ASW platform is the venerable Westland Sea King, while AEW is undertaken by the Kamov Ka-31. Utility and plane guard duties are undertaken by the HAL Chetak (or HAL Dhruv). The air squadrons are : INAS 303 “Black Panthers” – MiG-29K, INAS 321 “Angels” – Chetak, INAS 330 “Harpoons” – Sea King, INAS 339 “Falcons” – Ka-31.


sphere Amphibious capability

The Indian Navy has an amphibious transport dock of the Austin class, re-christened as INS Jalashwa in Indian service. It also maintains a fleet of landing ship tanks. It is expected that four more amphibious transport docks will be constructed in the future.[99]

sphere From Kolkata, Delhi, Rajput-class destroyers to next generation Visakhapatnam-class destroyers (Project 15B)


The navy currently operates two Kolkata, three Delhi and five Rajput-class guided-missile destroyers. The ships of the Rajput class will be replaced in the near future by the next-generation Visakhapatnam-class destroyers (Project 15B) which will feature a number of improvements.

sphere Frigates classes: Shivalik, Talkwar and older such as Godavaru and Nilgiri, the latter already decommissioned


The indian navy operates several classes of frigates such as three Shivalik (Project 17 class) and six Talwar class frigates. Seven additional Shivalik-class frigates (Project 17A class frigates) are on order.

The Godavari class frigates will systematically be replaced one by one as the new classes of frigates are brought into service over the next decade. Finally, the last remaining Nilgiri class frigate was decommissioned on 27 June 2013.


sphere Submarines: INS Chakra is the nuclear submarine of Indian navy combined with two types of conventional ones: Sindhughosh and Shishumar

The Indian Navy operates two types of conventional attack submarines; the Sindhughosh (Russian Kilo-class submarine design) and the Shishumar (German Type 209/1500 design) classes.

India also possess a single Akula-class submarine class nuclear-powered attack submarine named the INS Chakra. She is the result of a US$2 billion deal between India and Russia for the completion and lease of two Akula-class submarines to the Indian Navy. Three hundred Indian Navy personnel were trained in Russia for the operation of these submarines. Negotiations underway with Russia for the lease of the second Akula-class.At the end of the lease, it has been agreed that India will have the option to purchase the submarines outright.

Arihant, was launched on 26 July 2009 in Visakhapatnam (India) and is currently undergoing sea trials.The Navy plans to have six SSBN’s in service in the near future.She is both the first boat of the Arihant-class nuclear-powered ballistic missile submarines and the first nuclear-powered submarine to be built in India.

The Indian navy is developing quickly and often calls for new positions and applicants


sphere List of Indian Navy Vessels

sphere Indian Army Units

Matched Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>