Modern Indian Army Units

Search Contents

Modern Indian Army Units


sphere The Indian Army is increasing the number of advanced systems and weapons and annually recruiting new personal for their vast units. Although many of the army equipment was purchased abroad, there is a strong will to manufacture and design indigenous equipment. Many information about the Indian Army, including official webpages, can be found online.

sphere By Constitution, the Indian Army is essentially conscription service, however this has not been implemented in real, and the Indian Army operates with a voluntary based system. Some reports from the International Institute for Strategic Studies dated in 2010, indicate that the Indian Army has a strength of more than 1,000,000 of soldiers, with a similar strength for the reserve personnel. With this numbers, the possible candidates for the open positions should bear in mind that the Indian Army is indeed the largest standing volunteer army in the world. Due the past colonial tradition, all the ranks in the Indian Army are inherited from the British tradition, and it also includes the symbols and insignia of many ranks and operative units.

sphere Indian Army Ranks

The Indian Army ranks for commissioned officials can be summarized as follows: Field Marshal, General, Lieutenant General, Major General, Brigadier, Colonel, Lieutenant Colonel, Major, Captain, Lieutenant.

sphere The Indian Army Structure

Now, let’s examine in detail the organization and structure of the main units of the army. I have added the information on the physical location of the unit.

sphere First, the Headquarters of the Indian Army is located in New Delhi, the capital city of India. There is a Brigade in that location too: the 50th Independent Parachute Brigade – Agra

Next, there are several Main Commands that controls several Army Corps. Each Army Corps is also composed of several divisions, although some divisions can operate independently and they report only to the main command, such as the 23rd Infantry Division, based in Ranchi, which reports to the main command Kolkata, in west Bengal. There are five main commands plus one training command: Eastern Command, Northern Command, Southern Command, South Western Command, Western Command and Training Command. The details of the corps for each command are summarized below:

sphere Eastern Command Kolkata, West Bengal

23rd Infantry Division – Ranchi

III Corps – Dimapur, Nagaland
2nd Mountain Division – Dibrugarh
57th Mountain Division – Leimakhong
56th Mountain Division – Zakhama

IV Corps - Tezpur, Assam
71st Mountain Division – Missamari
5th Mountain Division – Bomdila
21st Mountain Division – Rangia

XXXIII Corps - Siliguri, West Bengal
17th Mountain Division – Gangtok
20th Mountain Division – Binnaguri
27th Mountain Division – Kalimpong


sphere Northern Command Udhampur, Jammu and Kashmir

XIV Corps, headquartered at Leh, Jammu and Kashmir
3rd Infantry Division headquartered at Leh
8th Mountain Division headquartered at Dras

XV Corps, headquartered at Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir
19th Infantry Division headquartered at Baramulla,
28th Mountain Division headquartered at Gurez

XVI Corps, headquartered at Nagrota, Jammu and Kashmir
10th Infantry Division headquartered at Akhnoor
25th Infantry Division headquartered at Rajauri
39th Infantry Division headquartered at Yol
10 Artillery brigade


sphere Southern Command Pune, Maharashtra

41st Artillery Division, headquartered at Pune, Maharashtra

XII Corps, headquartered at Jodhpur, Rajasthan
4th Armoured Brigade
340th Mechanised Brigade
11th Infantry Division headquartered at Ahmedabad
12th Infantry Division (converting to RAPID) headquartered at Jodhpur

XXI Corps, headquartered at Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh
31st Armoured Division headquartered at Jhansi
36th RAPID Sagar
54th Infantry Division (India) headquartered at Hyderabad/Secunderabad
475th Engineering Brigade

sphere South Western Command Jaipur, Rajasthan

42nd Artillery Division headquartered at Jaipur

I Corps, headquartered at Mathura, Uttar Pradesh
4th Infantry Division headquartered at Allahabad
6th Mountain Division headquartered at Bareilly
33rd Armoured Division headquartered at Hisar Military Station

X Corps, headquartered at Bhatinda, Punjab
16th Infantry Division headquartered at Sri Ganganagar
18th RAPID at Kota
24th RAPID at Bikaner
6th Independent Armoured Brigade
615th Independent Air Defence Brigade
471st Engineering Brigade


sphere Western Command Chandimandir, Haryana

40th Artillery Division headquartered at Ambala

II Corps, headquartered at Ambala, Haryana
1st Armoured Division headquartered at Patiala
14th RAPID at Dehradun
22nd Infantry Division headquartered at Meerut
474th Engineering Brigade
612th Mechanised Independent Air Defence Brigade

IX Corps, headquartered at Yol, Himachal Pradesh
26th Infantry Division headquartered at Jammu
29th Infantry Division headquartered at Pathankot
2nd Independent Armoured Brigade
3rd Independent Armoured Brigade

XI Corps, headquartered at Jalandhar, Punjab
7th Infantry Division headquartered at Firozpur
9th Infantry Division headquartered at Meerut
15th Infantry Division headquartered at Amritsar
23rd Armoured Brigade
55th Mechanised Brigade


sphere Training Command Shimla, Himachal Pradesh


Recently GMT has released a new strategy board game that simulates modern conflicts.

Previous one games includes Taiwan and Korean scenario. This new one is about the Indian army and hypothetical tactical and strategic situations:

Some books about the history of the Indian army and its units:

Matched Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>